PSY101 Introduction to Psychology Assignment 1 Solution Spring 2013

Dear Students,
Given below are five different advertisements/images. Each advertisement/ image some how relates to or represents a different level of the need according to Maslow’s hierarchy of needs.
· Firstly learn carefully Maslow’s hierarchy of needs.
· Then identify the levels being depicted in each of the advertisement.
· Finally you are required to justify your identification with strong logics and reasons that why do you think that particular advertisement/image represents a certain level of need according to Maslow’s theory.

***Important Instructions:
· Do not include unnecessary details in justification. Keep your statements to the point and focus only on the given images/advertisements.
· Only use the table given below for attempting this assignment.
· Accuracy of the identification of the need level depends on that how well this selection is justified.
· You can relate given advertisement/image either on the basis of pictures or the written message
· A single level of need should be denoted for one advertisement/image only.
***Marking scheme: 1 mark for the identification of each level of need and 3 marks for the
justification of that selection.
Advertisement/Image No. 1

Advertisement/Image No. 2



Advertisement/Image No. 3



  1. self actualization .
  2. esteem needs
  3. love and belongingness needs
  4. safety needs
  5. physiological needs

Abraham H. Maslow felt as though conditioning theories did not adequately acapture the complexity of human behavior. In a 1943 paper called A Theory of Human Motivation, Maslow presented the idea that human actions are directed toward goal attainment. Any given behavior could satisfy several functions at the same time; for instance, going to a pub could satisfy one’s needs for self-esteem and for social interaction.

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs has often been represented in a hierarchial pyramid with five levels. The four levels (lower-order needs) are considered physiological needs, while the top level is considered growth needs. The lower level needs need to be satisfied before higher-order needs can influence behavior. The levels are as follows (see pyramid in Figure 1 below).
Self-actualization – morality, creativity, problem solving, etc.
Esteem – includes confidence, self-esteem, achievement, respect, etc.
Belongingness – includes love, friendship, intimacy, family, etc.
Safety – includes security of environment, employment, resources, health, property, etc.
Physiological – includes air, food, water, sex, sleep, other factors towards homeostasis, etc